Sri Rajagopalaswamy Temple at a distance of 36 km from Kumbakonam, 45 km from Thanjavur and 96 km from Trichy, Sri Rajagopalaswamy Temple is a Vaishnavite shrine located in the town of Mannargudi, Tamil Nadu.

Timings: 5.30 AM – 12 PM and 4 PM – 9.30 PM

About Temple:

About Temple Much of the historical glimpses are Established in an area of six square acres with gigantic, sprawling seven circumambulatory paths with sixteen majestic towers and the typical grandeur of the stately Rajagopuram towering higher up the ethereal regions up 154 feet; the captivating marvel of a temples abides as a rare symbol of excellence. Some of the circumambulatory path like Tiruvunnazhi Prakaram, Garuda prakaram, Champaka prakaram, Kasi prakaram, Nacchiyar prakaram are enormously spacious and extensive and unique in their appearance. The seven vast splendid halls like Vallala Maharaja Mandapam, Thousand-pillared mandapam, Garuda Vahana mandapam, Yanai vahana mandapam, Lattice-window mandapa (Palakani mandapa) Butter and pot mandapa-(Vennai thazhi mandapa) Mast – Wood vehicle mandapa (Punnai vahana mandap) add the to the captivating pervasive expance of the temple prakaras. Sri Rajagopalaswamy with Sri Rukmini, Satyabhama, and Senkamalvalli There are twenty-four shrines including Perumal and Thayar shrines in the temple. The mast – wood tree Punnai is the sacred tree of the temple adored with special devotion as it is dedicated especially to the Lord. It is located in the Champaka Prakaram.

Sri Rajagopalaswamy Temple is dedicated to Rajagopalaswamy, an incarnation of Lord Krishna. The temple was first constructed by Kulothunga Chola I. Successive kings of the Chola Empire, Rajaraja Chola III, Rajendra Chola III and kings of Thanjavur Nayaks, Achyuta Devaraya expanded the temple. The temple contains inscriptions of the Hoysala kings and some Vijayanagara grants and many records of the later Nayaks and Marathas. The Thanjavur Nayaks made the temple as their dynastic and primary shrine and made significant additions.

The temple is spread over an area of 23 acres and is one of the important Vaishnavite shrines in India. The temple is called Dakshina Dwarka along with Guruvayoor by Hindus. The sanctum of the temple enshrines a 7 feet high image of Vaasudeva with his consorts Sri Devi and Bhoodevi. The Utsava murthi idol is of exquisite beauty and is adorned with precious jewellery and colourful flowers. Along with him are his consorts Rukmani and Satyabhama.

The temple also has 24 shrines, 7 mandapams, 9 theerthams, 16 gopurams and 7 prakarams that were constructed by Kulothunga Chola I. The temple complex has intricate carvings and depicts the architecture grandeur of Cholas and Thanjavur Nayaks. The present shrine along with a 1000-pillard hall and the big compound wall was constructed by Vijaya Raghava Nayak. Rajagopalaswamy Temple also has temple tank which is said to be one of the largest temple tanks in India.

Rajagopalaswamy Temple is known for annual Panguni Brahmotsavam (Mar 15-Apr 15) for a period of 18 days. A bronze idol of Lord Krishna which belonged to Chola period is taken out for the procession during the chariot festival.


Mannargudi, Tiruvarur, Tamil Nadu 614001



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here